Ryanair New Routes 2012 – and a new base in Majorca?

Numerous new routes due to commence in 2012 are on Ryanair’s website already, and it seems the airline has plans to expand significantly in the Balearic Islands.

More Ryanair Flights will be whisking Europeans to Palma, Majorca and Ibiza next year, starting in the spring, with dates and destinations confirmed here: http://www.ryanair.com/en/new-routes

Ryanair is expected to announce plans to expand operations from Majorca and Ibiza in 2012, following a press conference this week in Palma.

Boss Michael O’Leary has been eyeing the islands as part of Ryanair’s ongoing route expansion and reports say he plans “significant updates” to operations in the Balearic islands.

Ryanair’s website shows 22 new routes from Ibiza from March 25 and 21 from the Majorcan capital Palma, with services from Birmingham, Bournemouth, Bristol, Dublin, East Midlands, Edinburgh, Leeds/Bradford, Liverpool, Manchester, Prestwick, and Shannon in Ireland.

Somewhat surprisingly (Palma is one of Europe’s busiest airports during the summer holiday season) Majorca’s airport is the only one in Spain where Ryanair does not have a base yet. The no-frills carrier operates from other Spanish airports including Madrid, Barcelona, Girona, Valencia, Alicante, Malaga, Seville, and Gran Canaria, Lanzarote and Tenerife in the Canary Islands. Flights to Jerez on Spain’s Atlantic coast in Cadiz on the Costa de la Luz start in late March, flying direct from London Stansted.

Local reports say Ryanair executives have repeatedly expressed interest in agreeing a new deal with the Balearic islands’ authorities to jointly promote the destination.

Earlier this month, Ryanair announced its 48th European base in Denmark (at Billund).

Numerous new routes are on the Ryanair flight schedule for 2012 – viewable here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>